Help with renovations, maintenance and animal care in Gulbene

Report Login



Location: Gulbene, Latvia

Description:


Position 1: A like minded person to stay mid to long term (3 months or more) to help me when I’m here and take care of the animals when I need to go away for work. For this position I’d like the person to come for a 1 week trial period first and then return once we have both decided that we think we will get on well.

Position 2: Anyone who enjoys taking care of animals or renovating or doing general country property maintenance. Welcome to come for a short stay.

I live on a beautiful 4.7 hectare property with a pond and sauna in the countryside, 11km from Gulbene. I have 6 horses, 5 dogs, 2 cats and 3 chickens so whoever comes must genuinely like animals. There are lakes, rivers, endless sandy tracks in the area making it perfect for anyone who likes to spend time in the countryside.

If you are a good rider than you are welcome to come riding with me. I am also learning to carriage drive so would really like someone who would like to go out in the carriage.

At the moment the accommodation is basic because I need to renovate but I can offer a wooden cabin with two single beds, solar shower and compost toilet plus fridge and cooker. I hope to turn this into a proper guest cottage with the help of volunteers.

I don’t have much money so I can’t offer all food but I don’t like cooking so anyone who enjoys cooking and is up for cooking main meals then I will provide the ingredients.

Work would be 4 hours per day, 5 days per week. Morning work if I am at home or split between morning and afternoon if I am away and the animals need taking care of. Riding or carriage driving doesn’t count towards work hours.

I need people who will follow instructions and not try to take short cuts, animals are a lot of work and need to be looked after properly. Also no one who is nervous around dogs and horses.

Unfortunately, because of some bad experiences with help-x, I will need references.


Volunteers Feedbacks 0 votes