VB Home » Oceania » New Zealand » Choose your preferred home or garden project(s) in Wellington, New Zealand

Choose your preferred home or garden project(s) in Wellington, New Zealand

Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Happy to host individuals or couples or can make arrangements if you are travelling as a small group of friends (or a family) - just let me know!

I love Wellington...it is a great place and being on the south coast means lots to offer.

Local walking track nearby and 2km down hill to the local beaches (good for surfing - and a beautiful view for walks, running or cycling) and marine reserve (good for swimming/ snorkeling) and the same distance in the other direction to local bars/ shops or 5km to Courtenay place / Cuba street (Wellington CBD) or Airport. Choice of 2 bus stops close by (bus services 23, 29) or a downhill walk to Newtown, Island Bay or Lyall Bay. Happy to share more tips on where to go to see the best of Wellington based on your preferences.

On street parking (free) available if you have a car or campervan.

2 cats live here and we also have some older chickens who only lay fresh eggs occasionally now but are fun to watch. Occasionally a small friendly dog visits.

Our home isn't flash and is a little tired but it has everything needed (including your own private room with shared bathroom). Depending on when you visit it may be just me or my teen son may be at home (he enjoys cooking and is a good and creative budding chef). I love to learn new recipes and techniques too! If you enjoy books or boardgames there are plenty to enjoy while you are here (Catan is my current favourite).

We mostly eat poultry, seafood or vegetarian meals (no issues if you eat red meat)- and happy to learn some vegan meals too (have recently experimented with jackfruit).

Things to do to help around the home are many and varied which means you will hopefully be able to choose something to do that you enjoy doing.

If you love landscaping / basic building / diy / carpentry / property maintenance / fencing / gardening tidy / construction / exterior house preparation / painting experience please let me know so I can be prepared with the right tools/ materials for your preferred project :)

If you are great at cleaning, love organising and household chores - or maybe you can sew / make curtains/ help me with a wardrobe makeover (including clothing alterations) or can fix electronics like a retro radiogram...or just willing to try new things....there will always be something here...and would really appreciate your help too!

Please get in touch and let me know a bit about yourself, and any questions you may have are welcome too (am new to VolunteersBase but we have hosted many people via other networks and love meeting new people).

My preference is for stays with accommodation and food provided that are for at least a week preferably longer but negotiable if you are just passing through Wellington or if you prefer to provide your own food.

Look forward to hearing from you!
Volunteers Feedbacks 0 votes