VB Home » Europe » France » You can make a difference....

You can make a difference....

Location: The Boissiere in Gatine , France

Id verified symbol

A helping hand wanted at Puy Robin


We are offering a working holiday helping to renovate at our 500yr old farmhouse set in 2 hectares; we sit alone amongst rolling hills on a route of St Jacques de Compostelle. Some great walks, cycling or just sit and enjoy the scenery in your spare time.
You should be fairly independent and comfortable around small dogs that make a lot of noise but are otherwise friendly with humans!

Apart from the work, you should still have plenty of free time to enjoy the peace and spectacular countryside in the commune of La Boissière-En-Gâtine. Whether you enjoy walking, running, cycling, watching nature, gazing the dark skies, exploring or simply wanting a change away from the rat race - this is the place. We love the countryside and hope to share that with you.

NEARBY:
A pilgrim route of St Jacques de Compostelle runs alongside the property.

Parthenay, our nearest biggish town has a medieval walled town to visit. We are approximately an hour and 15mins from the fantastic Puy du Fou - a full and interesting day - which, if you choose the right day, ends with a fantastic light show on the lake.

Plenty of Chateaux to visit and Plan d'eau, for lake swimming.

There isn't a nearby bus, but we are happy to drop you at a nearby town or stop to get transport.

ABOUT US:
We are both early retirees, Chris from working at a local theatre in the UK as a stage carpenter - plus years of building related work. Sandra was a secondary school English teacher having returned to education and training after bringing up her family. We are both used to working with a variety of age groups and also have families so particularly used to younger people.
What can you gain from working with us?
Hopefully, we can share what we've learned over the years - plus lots since living in France! We feel you can learn a lot from others and that doesn't have to be in a formal way.

WORKING ARRANGEMENT:
5 hours per day Monday to Friday - though we are flexible if you want to have a full day out and to add hours on other days in lieu.
We would love some help with:

- DIY/Building work
- Construction
- Gardening and vegetable patch (weeding, turning soil etc)

Experience not essential but useful if you do. A willingness to learn is all we ask. Ideally we'd like someone willing to do a minimum 2 week stay - primarily so the jobs you are given give you a chance to do something that is not just hard labour but a learning experience too.

LIVING ARRANGEMENT:

We have 1 room in the main house with en-suite, or camping in the grounds available (for couple or one person).
No smoking in the house.
Meals are included if you are in, We generally have our main cooked meal in the evening. We eat generally vegetarian/pescatarian due to dietary intolerance but have no objection to meat eaters.


You can make a difference.... You can make a difference.... You can make a difference.... You can make a difference....