Looking for company and friendship

Report Login


The Jack of all Travel






Location: Tagish, Canada

Description:


I am looking for guests for friendship and company for myself and the other guests. This is your job, to be part of a group of friends.

Secondary considerations are everyday chores, like cooking, housecleaning, grocery shopping and errand running.

In the winter there is the daily need to make firewood to keep the woodstove going. Nothing more than what you would expect to do as a friend staying in a wilderness home.

I am not a business, a farm or a ranch, nor do I require work in exchange for accommodation, so NO Work Visa is required! This is important as we do occasionally cross into Alaska and upon returning Canada Border Services will be checking carefully!

You visit as a friend.

Accommodations:

The accommodations are quite rustic as this is a wilderness home. It also sometimes a little primitive. There is one large heated room with three queen-sized beds, two single beds and a shower room.

On overnight trips, accommodation will be a shared tent.

We bring water home from the local well, use solar cells for electricity, woodstove for heat and occasionally use kerosene lamps.

My home has limited electricity from batteries charged by solar and generator power. Enough to charge cell phones and laptops, but also run lights and a DVD player for movie night.

Everything here is really "Into the Wild". A place where you check the yard for bears, grumpy caribou or crazy squirrels before making that night run to the outhouse. :D

Finally:

This place is NOT for everyone, you must like wilderness living or be willing to try it. You should expect to sleep in a tent on roadtrips.

*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️This place runs on the energy and enthusiasm of each guest, and is for those who can make their visit an adventure.*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️

This is a more personal stay where we are all equals in this adventure of wilderness living or exploring on trips. We are a group of friends and contribute what is required to live here like cooking, cleaning, trip planning, meal planning and firewood gathering. Some are better at cooking and some are better at packing for trips, so we divide the daily chores as needed.

Guests that stay a month are preferred and usually get to see or do most everything. Longer stays are welcome.

Showers are not available at anytime of the day. We must take time to heat the water and run the generator. You are very welcome to use the outdoor shower anytime or the lake in summer!

I have a medium sized dog that is very lovable and lives in the house. Everyone wants to take him home with them! Please don't! :D

Volunteers Feedbacks 0 votes

Do you need Travel Insurance?
Share this Project by email Share this Project on Facebook Share this Project on Twitter Share this Project on G+